WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) supports Senator Jim Inhofe’s (R-OK) Congressional Review Act resolution to disapprove the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Risk Management Program (RMP) rule. This is a companion resolution to the one Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) introduced on Feb. 1, 2017.

AFPM President and CEO Chet Thompson commented:

“Senator Inhofe’s resolution will maintain the parts of the RMP program that are already working and will discard the revisions that compromise security and divert resources from enhancing safety. For these reasons, we support Senator Inhofe’s proposal and urge Congress to take immediate steps to disapprove the revised rule.

 “Safety is a core value of AFPM’s members, as evidenced by the numerous programs and policies our industries have enacted that exceed regulatory requirements. However, the revisions made to the RMP rule that EPA rushed out during the final hours of the Obama Administration do not enhance safety, but rather create security vulnerabilities and needlessly raise compliance costs.”